Meet Our Musicians

George Del Gobbo, Music Director and Conductor
The Dr. and Mrs. Steven Leichter Chair

Howard Goldstein, Assistant Conductor


Kerren Berz, Concertmaster The Mr. & Mrs. Rick Ussery Chair
Patricio Cobos, Concertmaster Emeritus  The Mrs. Virginia Norman Chair
Boris Abramov, Principal 2nd Violin  The Dr. & Mrs. Ken Goldman Chair
Tricia Anderson  The Mrs. Tom B. Black Chair
Ruslan Apostolov • The Judy Thomas Chair

Holly Bryan  The Mrs. Barbara Rothschild Chair
Barbara Careaga-Mitchell  The Mr. & Mrs. Gardiner W. Garrard Jr. Chair
Sharon Crane  The Sam & Dusty Wellborn Chair
David Edwards  The Del Gobbo Family Chair
Elizabeth Ehrlich  The Mr. John & Dr. Angela Sims Chair
Howard Goldstein  The Walter Alan Richards Foundation Chair
Anastasia Golovina • The Ms. Betty Auten Chair
Natalya Klenovskaya • The Mr. and Mrs. Joey Loudermilk Chair

Patrick Ryan  The Dr. & Mrs. Fred Oehrlein Chair
Weiru Sheng  The Mr. & Mrs. Philip M. Adams Chair
Ela Tokarska  The Mr. & Mrs. Wright B. Waddell Chair
Marina Volynets  The Pat D. Daniel & Stephen J. Hodges Chair
Perry Westmoreland • The Ms. Alex Saunders Chair
Lorna Wood  The Dr. & Mrs. Richard Robbins Chair
Tian Xu


Sarah Chastain, Principal  The Chuck & Arlene Lowery Chair
TBD, Assistant Principal

Miriam Barfield The Mrs. Margaret O’Neal Lewis Chair
Saskia Chowdhuri • The Dr. Mary W. Schley Chair
Charles Griffin  The CLIBOCA Foundation, Inc. Chair
Anton Jakovcic • The Mrs. Gail B. Greenblatt Chair
Lenin Pena • The Mr. & Mrs. B. Seth Harp Jr. Chair
TBD • The Ms. Rose Steiner Chair


Erin Ellis, Principal  The John & Sallie Martin Chair
Ismail Akbar • The Mr. & Mrs. James H. Blanchard Chair
Barbara Altman  The Mr. & Mrs. William G. Scrantom Jr. Chair
Daniel Holloway  The Mrs. Richard Hallock Chair
Nan Kemberling  The Mr. & Mrs. Charles W. Burgin Chair
Robert O’Brien • The Bruce & June Howard Chair
Ina Petkova-Apostolova • The Mr. & Mrs. W. Michael Ogie Chair

Cynthia Sulko  The Ms. Jane C. Steurer Chair

Double Bass

Jacqueline Pickett, Principal  The Friend of the Symphony Chair
Christina Caterino Ottaviano  The Ben & Shirley Moon Chair
Emory Clements The Dr. Gavin Spence Chair
Alex Mayweather • The Ms. Polly C. Miller Chair
Vadim Volynets


Jim ZellersPrincipal  The Dr. & Mrs. Edward B. Kinner Chair
Erica Bass Pirtle  The Dr. Catalina Aranas Chair
Jeana Melilli, Third Flute/Asst. Principal  The Mr. & Mrs. John W. Walden Jr. Chair


Jeana Melilli  The Mr. & Mrs. John W. Walden Jr. Chair
Erica Bass Pirtle  The Dr. Catalina Aranas Chair


Erica Howard, Principal • The Marleen & Marc Olivie Chair
Barbara Cook  The Mrs. Pamela Harmann Page & Dr. Edwin L. Page Chair
Susan Tomkiewicz, Interim Third/Asst. Principal  The Jack & JoRhee Pezold Chair

English Horn

Susan Tomkiewicz, Interim  The Jack & JoRhee Pezold Chair


David Odom, Principal  The Mr. William B. Turner Chair
Sandra Wade  The Dr. Christine Senn & Dr. Jeff Kingsley Chair
Staci Culbreth  The Dr. & Mrs. Jack Lawler Chair

Bass Clarinet

Staci Culbreth  The Dr. & Mrs. Jack Lawler Chair


Stephanie Patterson, Principal  The Saint Elmo Chair
Traian Sturza  The Nina & Jerry Elmore Chair
John Grove  The Dr. & Mrs. Spencer Garrard Chair

Contra Bassoon

John Grove  The Dr. & Mrs. Spencer Garrard Chair


Adam Pandolfi, Principal  The Dr. & Mrs. Robert M. Patton Chair
Julia Gerhardt  The Mr. & Mrs. D. Clyde Fountain Chair
TBD  The Columbus Marriott Chair
Jason Eklund  The Mrs. Marie Moshell Chair


Kevin Lyons, Principal  The Mr. Steve Sawyer Chair
Tao Ge – The Mr. & Mrs. Jim Sigmund Chair
Ryan Moser


Ed NicholsonPrincipal • The J.W. & Ethel I. Woodruff Foundation Chair
TBD, Acting Second  The Bill & Zada Feighner Chair

Bass Trombone

Richard Brady  The Mrs. Babette Rothschild Chair


Donald Strand, Principal  The Jane & Jack Goldfrank Chair


David Morris, Principal  The Mr. & Mrs. J.W. Feighner Jr. Chair


Courtney McDonald, Principal
Karen Hunt  The Otis & Eleanor Burnham Chair
Lisa Morris


Susan Brady, Principal  The Mrs. Ethel W. Foley Chair


Janie Lee Bullock, Principal  The Mr. & Mrs. Ray Crowley Chair

The Columbus Symphony Orchestra uses the revolving seating method for section string players who are listed alphabetically in the roster.

Emeritus Members of the Orchestra

Betty Anne Diaz, Principal Keyboard
Manuel Diaz, Principal Viola
James Taylor, Principal Trumpet

New Red Logo